To celebrate Byron Bay FC’s 50th anniversary, the club announced a Team of Distinction which encapsulated the best players of the club’s first half century.

The criteria used to select the 16 players included that they played with distinction for many years and showed outstanding skill or leadership. All the players contributed to great moments in our history or to our success. They are remembered for the quantity and quality of their on-field contribution.

All players were nominated by current or previous club members following a lengthy nomination period. The selection panel included the Club President Richard Ray, life members Kenny Baynes and Stuart Caruth as well as Paul Johnstone. The team was not selected based on positions, but simply the 16 most worthy players.

Paul Johnstone

Paul captained the 1978 reformed Rams to a Premiership in their first year with a 6-2 win over Mullumbimby and was awarded player of the match in the final. He also captain/coached the Premier Division and later played O35s. He is a great leader.

Mark Donnelly

Mark began his Byron Bay career as an U8 Penguin in 1970. He went on to represent the Summerland Soccer Federation seven times and in 1973 was a member of the club’s first undefeated team, winning the Pointscore Championship and Grand Final. He played his first senior game for the club at only 12-years-old in 1974 and in 1977 was an U15 State Titles finalist with Northern NSW, gaining selection in the National Team.

Ron Beams

Ron was an imposing player: a big, hard runner who always troubled the opposition goalkeeper. He won two grand finals as a player – scoring the best goal in the 1978 decider – and one as a coach.

Allan Fraser

Allan started his Byron Bay FC career in juniors and worked his way all the way up to the Premier Division side. He last played in 2002.

Tony Duncombe

Tony joined Byron Bay FC a senior player and with his silky skills is known as the best midfielder the club has ever had. Tony went on to captain/coached the Rams.

Sterling Collier

Sterling was a goalkeeper for Byron Bay in the 1990s when he went from juniors to seniors. He played in State and Northern Branch teams from U13s to U16 and as a senior goalkeeper was signed by National Soccer League side Brisbane Strikers.

Tony Wilson

Tony was a striker who was captain/coach of the club. Tony also played for Sydney City and in the Newcastle State League.

Chloe Dunsmore

Chlose played with Byron Bay from U6s all the way to seniors, winning two Grand Finals and earning selection in numerous representative sides including the North Coast Development team, the NSW U14 side, the NSW U18 side and the North Coast Academy.

Alison Green

Alison played in the club’s first women’s team and was selected six times to play for New South Wales.

Todd Knaus

Todd played with Byron Bay from 1989 where he went through all the junior sides, played for the Country State team, toured New Zealand with the state squad and was in the Northern Branch representative team from U13s to U16s. He was also part of the North Coast Academy squad for four years. Todd played seniors from 17 years of age and earned selection in the FFNC Team of the Year.

John Bradbury

John represented Australia at U17 level and went on to play for the Newcastle United Youth Team in the National Soccer League before heading to Norway to playing and coaching. He was a 2005 and 2006 Grand Final winner.

Jed Wright

Jed was an Australian schoolboy and FFNC representative. He played for Byron Bay from U15s to Premier Division and went on to play in the Queensland Premier League.

Shaun Packham

Shaun played all his football with Byron Bay, starting in U6s and became captain of the Premier Division side. He has scored in a grand final win, has captained Byron Bay to silverware and has been selected in multiple FFNC Team of the Year squads.

Aaron Riechter-Steers

Aaron was a junior FFNC representative player and was awarded player of match in the 2001 grand final. He has won multiple championships with Byron Bay, has earned multiple FFNC Team of the Year selections and was named FFNC Player of the Year in 2005.

Mark Sheppard

Mark was an U18 Australia representative who became captain/coach of Byron’s O35s Championship winning sides: scoring in both grand finals. He has also been the Premier Reserves captain/coach and played in Premier Division at the age of 45.

Bruce Morhaus

Bruce was a junior FFNC representative from the age of nine and a Northern NSW representative from 13-years-old up until 17. Bruce continued that trend when he was a senior player, representing FFNC playing against teams such as the Fijian National Team, Brisbane Strikers, and Queensland Roar. Bruce won the league and grand final double with South Lismore at age 17 before a 13-year career with Byron Bay where he won two Grand Finals, one Pointscore Championship, three ANZAC Cups and one Super Sevens. He scored a goal and was awarded player of the match in the 2006 grand final victory and has been selected in multiple FFNC Team of the Year squads.

Other Nominations

  • Kenny Baynes

  • Joel Bradford

  • Jordie Campbell

  • Stuart Carruth

  • Des Clark

  • Paul Clark

  • K Connel

  • Evan Copper

  • Chris Cranmer

  • James Herbertson

  • Craig Hutchinson

  • Nathan Jones

  • Chris Kelly

  • Ian Lennie

  • Andy Miller

  • Al Murray

  • James Packham

  • Jonathan Pierce

  • Wayne Proctor

  • Don Robinson

  • Eden Robinson

  • Sam Robinson

  • Tom Ruhl

  • Mark Stewart

  • Jens Waters

  • Youngie