FFNC winners announced

[singlepic id=539 w=500]

Peter Keenan - dedicated to Byron Bay FC since 1979

Click here to read the story on the Northern Rivers Echo website

[singlepic id=281 float=right]

Football Far North Coast's night of nights, the 2011 senior presentation, was held last Saturday night with the region's best male and female players recognised in front of 250 people at the Lismore Workers Club.

The Northern Rivers Echo male and female Golden Boots were awarded to the leading goal scorers in the Premier men's and women's competitions. This prestigious award resulted in joint winners in the female competition, with Bangalow's Hollie Jarrett and Alstonville's Chelsea Coleman locked at 24 goals each after the pointscore rounds. This was the second time that Jarrett has won this award while Coleman has been the top goal scorer on three occasions. Predatory striker Matthew Olley from Lismore Richmond Rovers was the men's Golden Boot with 18 goals, and remarkably, picked up this award 15 years after winning the same trophy.

The Northern Star female Player of the Year award was shared by 16-year-old Abbie Heffernan of Lismore Richmond Rovers and diminutive Bangalow player Tenneille Shaw.

[singlepic id=583 w=250]

Stephen Hegedis scored 23 goals to win the Open Division Golden Boot

The Open Division Golden Boot was awarded to Byron Bay's Stephen Hegedis from men's 6th Division with 23 goals while three players, Penny Greenhalgh from Bangalow Women's 4th Division, Angela Bailey from Goonellabah Women's 4th Division and Tori Smith from Lennox Head Women's 4th Division, could not be separated for the title in the open women's competition.

Coach of the Year in men's Premier Division went to Scott Collis from Lismore Workers Club. Rob Sheehan from Alstonville FC was named women's Premier Division Coach of the Year.

Other awards included Luke Mackney being recognised for the third time as Referee of the Year and Bangalow being crowned as Club Champions.

Pointscore winners in the Men's competition were: Byron Bay in 6th Division, Bangalow in 5th Division, Lennox Head in 4th Division, Goonellabah in 3rd Division, Bangalow in 2nd Division, Lennox Head in 1st Division, Lismore Workers in Premier Reserve and for the fifth time in eight years, Lismore Richmond Rovers in Premier Division.

Pointscore winners in the women's competition were Lennox Head in 4th Division, South Lismore in 3rd Division, Ballina in 2nd Division and Alstonville in Premier Division.

Dedication to Football awards were presented to Wayne Harding from Lismore Thistles, Peter Keenan from Byron Bay FC and Adam Coupe, who was nominated by Casino Soccer Club.

There was much interest in the announcement of the male and female Team of the Year [Kazahiro Tsukamoto from our Premier Squad was among those announced] with debate raging long into the night about who was not selected, even though it was not clear which players should have been left out. A great night was had by all and the spirit of competition between clubs was confirmed as being alive and well.

Steve Mackney

[singlepic id=467 w=500]

Kazahiro Tsukamoto - selected for Team of the Year